Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (2023)

Hydrangeas are very popular and come in many bright colorsincluding a stunning blue. HerFlowering time variesas well as. An interesting fact about hydrangeas is that they have such large flower heads that their bulk can weigh down their stems.

hydrangeas must receive adequate fertilizationto achieve optimal results. You need a good mix of essential nutrients to promote healthy flower, branch and root development. The fertilizer also increases the size, quantity, and color of the flower heads.

It's best not to skimp on a cheap fertilizer as it may contain harsh chemicals that will ultimately affect your hydrangea's growth and health. Instead, we tell youHow to find a quality fertilizerand tips on how to use it effectively for beautiful flowering.

At a glance: top hydrangea fertilizer

First choice
Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (1)

Our rating

Osmocote Smart Release

organic selection
Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (2)

Our rating

Jobe’s Organics Lime Soil

budget selection
Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (3)

Our rating

Miracle Gro plant food

Note: Clicking on the links above will take you to Amazon.com where we have an affiliate relationship. There you will receive additional product information and customer reviews. If you make a purchase, we may receive a commission at no additional cost to you.

Contents

  • 1 buyer's guide: hydrangea fertilizer
  • 2 top fertilizers for hydrangeas
    • 2.1 Organic garden lime from Jobe
    • 2.2 Miracle-Gro for Rhododendrons
    • 2.3 Espoma Holly Tone Fertilizer
    • 2.4 Espoma bone meal fertilizer
    • 2.5 JR Peters Hortensiendünger
    • 2.6 Jobe's Organics Soil Acidifiers
    • 2.7 Osmocote Plant Food Plus
    • 2.8 element nutrient flower fuel
    • 2.9 Espoma soil acidifier
    • 2.10 Scotts Superblüte
  • 3 Frequently Asked Questions
  • 4 Final Thoughts

Buying Guide: Hydrangea Fertilizer

Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (4)

The besthydrangeaFertilizers can vary from plant to plant. It depends on how you, as a gardener, prefer to incorporate the fertilizer into the soil and what the current condition of the soil itself is.

(Video) 🌿Top 5 Best Fertilizer For Hydrangeas - (2020 Guide & Reviews)💚

types of fertilizers

There are three main forms of hydrangea fertilizer: granules, compressed spikes, and liquid. There are advantages to using each type, so you need to consider other factors for your final choice.

Fluid

You can buy a ready-to-use liquid fertilizer or get it as a concentrate to dilute with water. Liquid fertilizers have the advantage that they are quickly absorbed through the leaves and roots. This gives the plants a solid nutrient boost. Liquid fertilizer can be sprayed onto the plant's foliage, or you can pour the fertilizer into the soil around the base of the plant.

granules

This is one of the most popular fertilizer options. Granules can be sprinkled around the base of the plant, or you can dissolve them in water and pour them like a liquid fertilizer. Another option is the time-release granules. You have apolymer coatingon the outside, and you need to dig them into the ground with a gardening tool and till them. They dissolve longer, but provide the plant with the necessary nutrients over a longer period of time.

Spikes

The spikes are similar to the time-release granules in that they deliver nutrients over the long term. This type of fertilizer is condensed and takes the form of hardened spikes. The gardener uses these spikes by pushing them down around the soil base of the plant. For about two to three months, the spikes will slowly resolve.

Inorganic vs. organic fertilizers

Most fertilizers used to feeding hydrangeas contain some form of chemicals. However, some have all-natural ingredients. Both types of fertilizers are good for making your plant healthier and producing vigorous buds. This choice is a matter of preference.

Inorganic

An inorganic fertilizer contains both synthetic and chemical nutrients. It was created and developed in a laboratory to encourage certain types of cultivation. Maybe it's causing copious blooms, larger buds, or even increased acidity. All of these are desirable growth trends when planting hydrangeas.

Organic

If you want to avoid chemicals, you can buy organic fertilizers with natural ingredients, such as poultry droppings, earthworm droppings, or compost.Organic fertilizers contain no chemicals, but it also may not be as effective as inorganic fertilizers.

One benefit is that they can improve the health of your soil while providing nutrients to your hydrangeas. One example is how compost helps drain clay soil.

Ratio: N-P-K

You will find that commercial fertilizers have labels that indicate how much nitrogen (N), phosphorus (P), and potassium (K) they contain by weight. This formula is known as the N-P-K ratio.

A universal and balanced hydrangea fertilizer is beneficial because it contains equal parts of nitrogen, phosphorus and potassium. An example of this would be a fertilizer with a 10/10/10 N-P-K.

The balance of nutrients gives you everything in one—beautiful buds and strong foliage. If all you want to do is increase the size and quantity of your hydrangea flowers, look for a fertilizer high in phosphorus. In this case, maybe a 10/20/10 would suit you better.

Flower color and the pH value

Different degrees of acidity produce different colored hydrangeas. White hydrangeas only give you white flower heads. However, if you manipulate the pH of the soil, you can get different colors.

The higher the acidity, the more likely you are to get those intense blue hydrangeas that are so popular with gardeners. So let's learn about the pH scale for a moment.

In this case, the pH scale tells us how acidic the soil is. It starts at 0 and goes up to 14. A neutral pH is 7; anything higher would be basic and anything lower would be acidic. TheThe color of the hydrangea changesdepending on the greater fluctuations in soil pH.

Neutral: This level (at or near 7) gives you those pinkish and deeper pink tones.

Alkaline: At levels higher than 7, the hydrangeas tend to become light pink.

A little angry: If the pH is close to 6, you will get hydrangeas that are purple, dark pink or slightly red.

Very angry: If the pH is below 6, your hydrangeas are likely to turn blue. Most gardeners prefer this color and regularly change their soil to get blue hydrangeas.

There are many hydrangea fertilizers labeled as acidic. Aside from the nutrients (N-P-K), they also have additives that change the pH of the soil. Aluminum sulfate and sulfur are the two most commonly used types of additives.

If you decide to plant these blue flower heads, be sure to get a pH tester for your soil so you know what you're working with. You can use these to monitor levels so you can keep the soil acidic.

Top fertilizer for hydrangeas

Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (5)

Now that you understand what to look for when buying a fertilizer for your hydrangeas, let's look at some of our favorite options. Depending on your soil type and planting geography, some of our picks may perform better than others.

Keep in mind,Fertilizer for vegetables such as cucumberAndpumpkinhave different fertilizer needs. It's never a one-size-fits-all scenario. So let's get to that. Based on our research, here are oursTop picks for fertilizing hydrangeas.

Jobes Bio-Gartenlimette

Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (6)
  • Organic plant nutrition formula.
  • Increases soil alkalinity.
  • Formulated for flowering plants.
  • Easy to use.
  • Premixed and ready to use.
  • 100% natural ingredients.
  • budget friendly.

View on Amazon.com

*If you buy something through one of the links on our site, we may receive an affiliate commission.

If you want those light or dark pink hydrangeas that will add a pop of color to your home or garden, this soil conditioner will get the job done. Jobe's organic formulas are right toopopular fertilizers for hibiscusand other flowering plants.

By maximizing soil alkalinity, this fertilizer promotes better structure. The hydrangeas will not absorb nutrients if the pH is below 6 and the sweet spot for hydrangeas is 6.5-6.8.

Organics Lime Fertilizer is the perfect addition to your arsenal, turning your hydrangeas pink and allowing them to thrive all season long.

Use the granules during planting and 2-3 times throughout the year to maintain pH.

what we like

  • It's easy to pour out of the bag.
  • You'll get instant results with a flowering time of three days.
  • It increases the pH of the soil and turns the hydrangeas pink.

What we don't

  • You don't get much product, so it won't take long if you're growing a lot of hydrangeas.
  • Due to its popularity, it sells out quickly.

Miracle-Gro for Rhododendrons

Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (7)
  • Can be used weekly.
  • Made for hydrangeas.
  • Nourishes the roots of the plant.
  • Formulated for acid loving plants.
  • Easy to use.
  • Premixed and ready to use.
  • budget friendly.

View on Amazon.com

(Video) Best Fertilizer For Hydrangeas - Blooming Bright

*If you buy something through one of the links on our site, we may receive an affiliate commission.

Miracle-Gro is a granular fertilizer that works quickly to instantly increase the acidity of the soil around your hydrangeas. This is right for the gardens that want large bright blue hydrangea flower heads.

Miracle Gro fertilizer nourishes your plants, adds iron and is easy to use. Transform pale hydrangeas to bright blue with just one application.

Use Miracle Gro fertilizer once a week or once every two weeks. This fertilizer works well with a sprayer or watering can. The N-P-K ratio is 30/30/10.

Outdoor Hydrangeas: Add a tablespoon of Miracle-Gro to a gallon of water.

Indoor Hydrangeas: Add ½ teaspoon of Miracle-Gro to a gallon of water.

what we like

  • Makes faded flowers look vivid again after one use.
  • Fast-release granules give an instant boost.
  • Easy to use and apply to the floor.

What we don't

  • The packages are small.

Espoma Holly Tone Fertilizer

Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (8)
  • Formulated for acid loving plants.
  • Made for hydrangeas.
  • Approved for organic gardening.
  • Proprietary Bio-Clay Microbes.
  • Easy to use.
  • Premixed and ready to use.
  • budget friendly.

View on Amazon.com

*If you buy something through one of the links on our site, we may receive an affiliate commission.

Another top choice for Espoma, the organic fertilizer Holly Tone contains a special formula that is suitable for a wide variety of plants. You get a whopping 18lb bag that will last you for a while.

Similar to the Miracle Gro fertilizer, the Espoma Holly Tone formula is fast acting. You only need to apply it once a month before it rains.

Many gardeners report that it is very easy to use and they get consistently beautiful results time after time. This fertilizer is a 4/3/4 ratio of N-P-K.

Prepare the soil and add two cups of Espoma HT18 fertilizer for every cubic foot of soil. (Young Hydrangeas)

If your hydrangeas are already established, you can simply sprinkle a teaspoon of the organic fertilizer into the top three inches of soil. (outer edge of your pot)

what we like

  • Will not burn or damage your plants.
  • You'll get effective results with this fast-acting formula.
  • Purely natural ingredients.

What we don't

  • The price is higher in some areas/regions.

Espoma bone meal fertilizer

Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (9)
  • Formulated for acid loving plants.
  • Made for hydrangeas.
  • Made from organic bone flour.
  • Helps develop root systems.
  • Easy to use.
  • All natural formula.
  • budget friendly.

View on Amazon.com

*If you buy something through one of the links on our site, we may receive an affiliate commission.

Espoma Organic Bone Meal fertilizer is a 4/12/0 mix and gives you a small dose of nitrogen and a higher concentration of phosphorus for strong and healthy roots.

Use Espoma Bone Meal in May and also in August. The earlier you do it the better as it lends itself to stronger buds.

This fertilizer is available in the following sizes: 4 lb, 10 lb, and 24 lb.

Use Espoma Organic Bone Meal in spring and also in autumn. You can apply one to two pounds depending on the size of the shrub. You need to rake the soil and water the manure well.

what we like

  • Purely natural ingredients.
  • Promotes strong root development.
  • Promotes lush blooms.
  • Low nitrogen inhibits excessive leaf development.

What we don't

  • Because this product is organic, it can easily attract other animals and insects.

JR Peters Hortensiendünger

Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (10)
  • Specially made for hydrangeas.
  • Enhances blue colored flowers.
  • Easy to use.
  • Built in flow control.
  • Best with frequent use.
  • Manufactured in the United States.
  • budget friendly.

View on Amazon.com

*If you buy something through one of the links on our site, we may receive an affiliate commission.

JR Peters is a renowned and respected name in the gardening industry. They use an innovative approach to produce water-soluble fertilizers. Jack features several essential nutrients in individual 1.5 lb packs. The N-P-K ratio is 7/3/3.

JR Peters fertilizer contains just the right collection of ammonium sulphate and high quality nutrients to promote optimal plant development and growth.

While the ammonium sulphate is working, the micronutrients are supplied to the plant. The sulfate also helps lower the pH of the soil to make it suitable for plants that thrive in acid.

If the product is used as recommended, your hydrangea will produce leaves that are lush and green along with blue flowers. It only takes a few weeks to see your plants looking healthier and fuller.

(Video) Master Gardener Lecture - "Hydrangeas"

Soak the roots with the fertilizer solution. For the first month of use, it only needs to be deposited every 14 days by adding a tablespoon to a gallon of water.

In the following months it is sufficient to fertilize your plants once a month. The best time to apply this fertilizer is in the early morning and late evening hours.

what we like

  • Develops the plant holistically.
  • It lowers the pH of the soil.
  • Helps develop leaves that are fuller and greener.
  • Easy to use.

What we don't

  • The results are sometimes contradictory: bright flowers do not always appear.

Jobe's Organics soil acidifier

Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (11)
  • OMRI listed for organic horticulture.
  • Colors hydrangeas from pink to blue.
  • Ideal for hydrangeas and blueberries.
  • Promotes dark green growth.
  • Easy to use.
  • Manufactured in the United States.
  • budget friendly.

View on Amazon.com

*If you buy something through one of the links on our site, we may receive an affiliate commission.

This product promises to improve your plants' vigor and disease resistance. In addition, thanks to its organic acidifier, it supports the appearance and color of your hydrangeas.

How does it work? The fertilizer reduces soil alkalinity by using all-natural ingredients. This granular formula causes plants to grow a darker green without the harmful chemicals known to burn plants.

Purely natural ingredients such as sulfur correct alkaline dirt. In addition, sulfur helps in the production of proteins that plants need for healthy development. In addition, the gypsum in the fertilizer contributes to the formation of enzymes and vitamins.

When it's time to plant, water the product once and reapply two to three times a year. This allows you to maintain the desired pH level in your soil.

what we like

  • The product is easy to pour thanks to the sachet.
  • Won't burn your plants.
  • It acts quickly and is very effective.
  • Helps turn pink hydrangeas into a beautiful blue color.

What we don't

  • The price is higher than some other options on the list.

Osmocote Plant Food Plus

Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (12)
  • Enriched with 11 essential nutrients.
  • Feeds for up to 6 full months.
  • Easy to use.
  • Can be used on potted plants.
  • Can be used indoors and outdoors.
  • Works with all types of plants.
  • budget friendly.

View on Amazon.com

*If you buy something through one of the links on our site, we may receive an affiliate commission.

Osmocote Smart Release Plant Food plus Fertilizer is your one stop shop solution for potted plants. This versatile fertilizer can be used on all types of plants and works equally well in all growing conditions.

This product is available in an 8 pound quantity and can nourish a plant for six months. In addition, the fertilizer contains 11 essential nutrients that are vital for plants.

Derived from ammonium nitrate, it is also a slow-release fertilizer purposely designed to gradually feed your plant.

An outstanding feature of this fertilizer is that all the granules are coated with a semi-permeable resin. So when water is put inside the plant, the special coating allows it to penetrate inside and dissolve the nutrients.

After that, the dissolved nutrients are released when the temperature changes. Warmer temperatures are better for the nutrients to be released quickly.

Scatter this fertilizer into the soil, mix thoroughly and then water well.

what we like

  • Simple application
  • Contains unique resin-coated granules.
  • Works well in all growing conditions.
  • It's a slow release fertilizer.

What we don't

  • Dissolving sometimes takes longer.

Element Nutrient Flower Fuel

Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (13)
  • Premium bloom booster.
  • 40 different proprietary ingredients.
  • Consists of vitamins and amino acids.
  • Crafted to produce denser crops.
  • 100% Hydroponic fertilizers.
  • Treats up to 200 gallons of water.
  • budget friendly.

View on Amazon.com

*If you buy something through one of the links on our site, we may receive an affiliate commission.

The Flower Fuel bloom booster is a very effective fertilizer from the Element brand. This fertilizer has more oil and resin, which combine to encourage a larger, heavier, and denser crop.

You can get the fertilizer in packs of 20,000g, 5,000g, 1,000g and 200g to suit your needs.

This fertilizer helps plants absorb all organic nutrients and compounds much faster.

This complex mixture consists of vitamins, high quality hormones and chelating agents. Aside from this proprietary blend, there are bioavailable forms of phosphorus and potassium.

Finally, each pack includes a 2.5 teaspoon and ¼ teaspoon scoop to ensure you get more accuracy.

what we like

  • Promotes accelerated nutrient absorption.
  • Used for all floor tops.
  • Includes handy measuring spoons.
  • It has bioavailable forms of phosphorus and potassium.

What we don't

  • It is easy to spill the product when trying to open the package.

Espoma soil acidifier

Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (14)
  • Organic soil acidifier.
  • Long lasting formula.
  • Lowers the pH of the soil.
  • Plant nutrition and soil improvement.
  • Lowers the pH of the soil.
  • Perfect for acid loving plants.
  • budget friendly.

View on Amazon.com

(Video) Best Fertilizer For Japanese Maple | The Top Five

*If you buy something through one of the links on our site, we may receive an affiliate commission.

This fertilizer not only improves the quality of your soil, but also serves as a source of nutrition for your plants.

It comes in a six-pound bag and is made with pure ingredients. Therefore, there are no adverse side effects from harsh chemicals.

This acidifier lowers the soil to the perfect pH level for blue hydrangeas. This contains all the nutrients and minerals you need to cultivate your plant. This means that you do not have to buy another herbal supplement for the hydrangeas.

This slow-release fertilizer is perfect for providing your flowers with an even flow. It lasts up to two months. This means you don't have to constantly apply fertilizer and it won't leach into the soil and your water supply.

what we like

  • Lowers the pH of the soil to a suitable level.
  • Contains pure organic minerals.
  • Helps achieve stellar growth.
  • Long-term source of nutrients.

What we don't

  • In certain factories, the work may take longer.

Scotts Super Bloom

Best fertilizers for hydrangeas: ratings, reviews and top picks (15)
  • Water-soluble plant food.
  • Use weekly for best results.
  • Instantly feeds plants and flowers.
  • Best for outdoor flowers.
  • Easy to use.
  • When used correctly, plants will not be burned.
  • Budget-friendly formula.

View on Amazon.com

*If you buy something through one of the links on our site, we may receive an affiliate commission.

Scotts Super Bloom is water soluble and can be used for all outdoor plants, flower beds and containers. This fertilizer has an N-P-K ratio of 12/55/6 and comes in 2 lb containers.

This product has a high phosphorus content that helps achieve perfect flowering. If you follow the instructions carefully, you won't have to worry about your plants getting burned.

This fertilizer will balance the pH levels in your soil, provide your hydrangeas with the nutrients they need and help them thrive in acidity.

Add two teaspoons of the product to a gallon of water. Apply it around the base of the plant. For best results, fertilize your flowering plants every 7-14 days.

what we like

  • It's easy to use.
  • Creates a good environment to grow.
  • It encourages perfect blooms.

What we don't

  • Fertilizer color may vary from purchase to purchase.

frequently asked Questions

How often should I fertilize my hydrangeas?

hydrangeasshould be fertilized in spring, just as it begins to scroll. That gives him a kick start in the early season. They should be fertilized a second time during the growing season in July. Remember that quick fertilizers need to be applied twice in the summer.

Can you fertilize hydrangeas during flowering?

Hydrangeas that are youngneed light fertilizationwith fast fertilizer in March, May and July. After they begin to form buds, fertilize them in early spring and again after flowering with about 120ml of balanced fertilizer.

When Should You Stop Fertilizing Hydrangeas?

fertilizationshould be discontinued in all regions, whether warm or cold, two months before the average time of the first frost. If youFertilize your hydrangeas late, she will produce bountiful growth at a time when your plants should be preparing for winter dormancy.

How do I fertilize hydrangeas?

Firstly, it is very importantFollow the directions on the product label. They can be diluted with liquids and poured around the base of the plant, or you can sprinkle them on the foliage. Granules are usually incorporated into the top inches of soil.

On the other hand, fertilizer spikes are deployed near the plant base and pushed below the surface of the soil.

Final Thoughts

If you know what you're looking for, go for itbest hydrangea fertilizeris not so difficult. If you are looking for a fertilizer that ticks all the boxes, we recommend Jobe's.

(Video) How to Make Your Hydrangea Bloom

We alsoendorse the use of Miracle-Gro, designed to nourish your prized hydrangea from leaf to root. No matter what you need, you're sure to find exactly what you need in our list of the best fertilizers we highly recommend!

FAQs

What is the best time to fertilize hydrangeas? ›

Generally, you should fertilize your hydrangeas in Spring just when it begins to leaf out to give it an early-season boost. Fertilize them a second time during the growing season of July. The fast-release fertilizers require application twice in summer.

What is the best fertilizer for endless summer hydrangeas? ›

Fertilize your Endless Summer Hydrangeas in the spring with Holly-tone for blue flowers or Plant-tone and granulated lime for purple to pink flowers.

What is the best fertilizer for roses and hydrangeas? ›

The best fertilizer for hydrangeas is a granular (i.e., not liquid) fertilizer formulated for woody plants. We find that a rose fertilizer, like Espoma Rose Tone, is an excellent choice - after all, roses are flowering shrubs, just like hydrangeas are.

Is Miracle Grow good for hydrangeas? ›

If you are looking for an all-around great option for hydrangeas and other flowers then I recommend the Miracle-Gro All Purpose Plant Food. This fertilizer instantly feeds providing bigger, better fruit. You can apply it every two weeks with a garden feeder.

What helps hydrangeas bloom more? ›

How to Get More Panicle Hydrangea Flowers:
  • Plant panicle hydrangeas in all-day sun or afternoon sun.
  • Water them during a drought, especially if you notice wilting.
  • Add plenty of organic matter (such as compost) around the plant.
  • Limit any drastic pruning to early spring, just before new growth emerges.
Apr 29, 2022

How late can you fertilize hydrangeas? ›

Don't fertilize after August. Fall is the time for hydrangeas to begin preparing for dormancy. Fertilizing at this time may stimulate new growth that will be too tender to withstand the winter. In the South, a late May application and another in July would be about right.

Is 20 20 20 fertilizer good for hydrangeas? ›

Hydrangeas do well with all-purpose mixes like 10-10-10 or 20-20-20. The upside of choosing this type of mix is that you can use it on most plants in your garden without keeping many different types of fertilizer on hand. Another good mix for Hydrangeas is 15-30-15.

Can you over fertilize hydrangeas? ›

The first rule of thumb is to NOT over-fertilize your hydrangea plants. We suggest one application of granular fertilizer in spring or early summer, and then follow package instructions afterwards. If you over-fertilize, it can burn the root system of your hydrangea bushes and actually inhibit bloom production.

Can you use Miracle Grow on Endless summer hydrangeas? ›

Miracle-Gro Water Soluble Bloom Booster Flower Food

This is an all-purpose blossom booster that's suitable for use on a wide variety of perennial and annual blooming plants, including hydrangeas.

Is 12 4 8 a good fertilizer? ›

A complete fertilizer, such as 16-4-8, 12-6-6 or 12-4-8, is generally recommended, unless the soil test reveals that phosphorus and potassium are adequate.

Does Epsom salt help hydrangeas grow? ›

The short answer is yes it will – Epsom Salts is Magnesium sulfate and Sulfur is the mineral that we apply to the soil to lower the pH. You will also be applying Magnesium which should help enhance the color of your foliage since Magnesium is needed for chlorophyll production.

How does Epsom salt help hydrangeas? ›

Hydrangea macrophylla, ones with pink and blue ones, are affected by the pH of the soil. A pH below 6 is best for blue flowers; above 6 encourages pink ones. Adding Epsom salts to your plant increases the amount of magnesium in the soil.

What fertilizer makes hydrangeas pink? ›

Continue adding garden lime for pink hydrangea flowers according to package directions until the desired color is reached. Maintaining the consistently pink blossoms will require regular applications of garden lime, so it's a good idea to add it whenever you add fertilizer.

Do coffee grounds help hydrangeas grow? ›

Coffee grounds add extra acidity to the soil around hydrangeas. On a chemical level, this increased acidity makes it easier for the plant to absorb naturally occurring aluminum in the dirt. The effect is pretty blue clusters of flowers.

What does baking soda do for hydrangeas? ›

Baking soda is an organic fungicide with anti-fungal properties that can help prevent fungal disease from attacking your hydrangea plants, so it's a good idea to use it every time you water the plant or give them fertilizer.

Should you water hydrangeas every day? ›

The hydrangea should be watered thoroughly at least 3 times a week. Always water the plant all the way around the container, not just in one place. Water should come out the bottom of the pot. Never let it sit in water which will cause the roots to rot away.

Will vinegar help hydrangeas bloom? ›

Some gardeners have started using vinegar to lower their soil pH to change bigleaf hydrangea (Hydrangea macrophylla) bloom colors. Does this actually work? The short answer is kind of; in theory, it can. But is it your best long-term solution for altering your soil pH?

Does vinegar help hydrangeas? ›

Hydrangea flowers will be pink in alkaline soil, but change to blue in acidic soil. So, mix up some apple cider vinegar and water, and give all the acid-loving plants a treat.

Should I fertilize hydrangeas while blooming? ›

If your hydrangeas bloom in late spring and early summer, you want to give the second dose just before they unfold their blooms. The same goes for those that bloom in late summer / early fall – once again giving them their second dose just as they begin to flower.

What is 10 20 10 fertilizer good for? ›

Summary. Low nitrogen and potassium, in combination with higher levels of phosphorus, make 10-20-10 a great choice for gardeners looking to improve root development, homeowners looking for a better root system in warm-season grasses or someone who is growing a newly established lawn in from seed.

How often should I Fertilise hydrangeas? ›

Most hydrangeas don't need much extra fertiliser, but woody plant guru Michael Dirr, a retired University of Georgia horticulture professor, says you can apply a balanced slow-release fertiliser in late winter to early spring. Be careful: If you apply too much fertiliser, you might get more leaves than blooms.

Is Miracle Gro garden soil good for hydrangeas? ›

To grow hydrangeas in planting beds, focus on improving the native soil. One simple way to do that is to combine equal parts existing soil and Miracle-Gro® Garden Soil for Trees and Shrubs. In warmer regions (zones 7 and warmer), where winter tends to be mild, you can also grow hydrangeas in containers.

Can you fertilize hydrangeas in August? ›

Fertilize hydrangeas twice a year, once in the early spring and again in the early summer. Most people apply fertilizer in May when the plants first start to leaf out. Then, feed them again during the growing season, which is around July. A second feeding is especially crucial in warmer climates.

Should you remove old hydrangea blooms? ›

Removing the spent blooms triggers flowering shrubs to stop producing seeds and instead put their energy toward root and foliage development. This makes plants stronger and healthier, so by deadheading, you'll be doing your hydrangeas a favor.

How do you keep the soil acidic for hydrangeas? ›

Adding aluminum sulfate will tend to lower the pH of the soil. Another method for lowering the pH is to add organic matter to the soil such as coffee grounds, fruit and vegetable peels, grass clippings etc.

Should hydrangeas be fertilized in the fall? ›

Depending on the variety, a balanced time-release fertilizer can be applied a few times a year, in spring and early fall. Take care not to apply too much fertilizer as it could burn the leaves.

Should you cut old blooms off Endless summer hydrangeas? ›

"Bigleaf hydrangeas, such as Endless Summer, should be deadheaded when the first set of flowers sprouts from last year's growth in the spring, as it eliminates the faded flowers before the next flush appears," she explains.

How do I get my Endless summer hydrangeas to bloom? ›

How do you keep Endless Summer hydrangeas blooming? The best location to ensure continuous bloom is one where the plant receives morning sun and afternoon dappled shade. In too much sun, they might stop blooming.

Is 12 4 8 fertilizer good for hydrangeas? ›

A good all-purpose 12-4-8 or 10-10-10 composition will provide all the fertilizing hydrangeas need. Either a chemical source or organic matter can be used successfully. Applying a once a year slow-release chemical formulated for shrubs and trees is the simplest solution to hydrangea care and feeding.

What is 20 20 20 fertilizer good for? ›

Description. Our 20-20-20 Garden Fertilizer is a multi-purpose, premium fertilizer that can be used in all stages of plant growth in vegetable or flower gardens. It contains equal amounts of nitrogen (20%), phosphorous (20%) and potassium (20%) to provide a balanced formula for your garden plants.

What is 10 15 10 fertilizer good for? ›

Schultz® All-Purpose Liquid Plant Food 10-15-10 is a concentrated product designed to feed all kinds of indoor plants, outdoor plants, flowers and vegetables. Perfect for transplanting, repotting and rooting. It is a micronutrient-rich fertilizer that will promote new growth. Must be mixed with water.

Does Epsom salt help hydrangeas bloom? ›

The short answer is yes it will – Epsom Salts is Magnesium sulfate and Sulfur is the mineral that we apply to the soil to lower the pH. You will also be applying Magnesium which should help enhance the color of your foliage since Magnesium is needed for chlorophyll production.

Can I fertilize hydrangeas in the fall? ›

Don't fertilize after August. Fall is the time for hydrangeas to begin preparing for dormancy. Fertilizing at this time may stimulate new growth that will be too tender to withstand the winter.

What does vinegar do to hydrangeas? ›

Hydrangea flowers will be pink in alkaline soil, but change to blue in acidic soil. So, mix up some apple cider vinegar and water, and give all the acid-loving plants a treat. Or change colors of your hydrangeas on a whim from pink to blue.

What color does Epsom salt turn hydrangeas? ›

Does Epsom Salt Change the Color of Hydrangea? Epsom salts are neutral and will not change the pH of your soil. Therefore, they will not affect the colour of your hydrangeas.

Do I need to do anything to my hydrangeas in the fall? ›

The short answer is no. No matter what type of hydrangea you're growing, there's no need to do any pruning as part of your hydrangea fall care. In fact, pruning in the autumn could remove flower buds for next year, depending on which variety of hydrangea you're growing.

What do you feed hydrangeas in the fall? ›

Remove any debris that fell off from the base of the plant. You want to make sure your soil is free of any weeds, leaves and dead flowers. If you're growing blue hydrangeas, feed with Holly-tone to keep the soil acidic and the blooms bright. Otherwise, opt for Flower-tone.

What is 12 24 12 fertilizer good for? ›

Trini Farmers | 12 24 12 is that a good fertilizer for citrus.

What is 12 12 12 fertilizer used for? ›

Ideal for vegetable and flower gardens, shrubs and landscape plantings. The quick release formula can be applied every 30 days through-out the growing season to provide primary nutrients to promote plant growth.

What is the best time of day to apply fertilizer? ›

Late afternoon or early evening (when there's still light, of course) is the best time of day to apply lawn fertilizer. Applying it in the heat of a scorching afternoon can cause the sun's rays to burn your grass—and when your goal is “lush and green,” burned grass blades simply won't cut it.

Videos

1. How I Fertilize My Garden Each Spring (Plus My Fertilizer Stash) | The Southerner’s Northern Garden
(The Southerner's Northern Garden)
2. 4 Year Update on Our 'Incrediball' Hydrangea Hedge! 🌿
(Garden Answer Highlights)
3. Which Panicle Hydrangea is Right For You? | Part One: Full-sized Hydrangeas
(Proven Winners ColorChoice Flowering Shrubs)
4. Hydrangeas - everything you need to know about growing hydrangeas in your garden
(The Middle-Sized Garden)
5. Let's Dance Rave Hydrangea
(Garden Obsessions)
6. All Things Hydrangeas
(Sunnyside Nursery)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Gregorio Kreiger

Last Updated: 04/08/2023

Views: 6194

Rating: 4.7 / 5 (57 voted)

Reviews: 88% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Gregorio Kreiger

Birthday: 1994-12-18

Address: 89212 Tracey Ramp, Sunside, MT 08453-0951

Phone: +9014805370218

Job: Customer Designer

Hobby: Mountain biking, Orienteering, Hiking, Sewing, Backpacking, Mushroom hunting, Backpacking

Introduction: My name is Gregorio Kreiger, I am a tender, brainy, enthusiastic, combative, agreeable, gentle, gentle person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.